Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. George E. "Chip" Campsen III, Chairman Sen. Gerald Malloy Sen. Greg Hembree Rep. Murrell Smith Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Peter M. McCoy Jr. Kristian C. Bell Michael Hitchcock Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

December 8, 2016

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission announces that the Speaker of the House James H. "Jay" Lucas today appointed the Honorable Peter M. McCoy, Jr. as a new legislative member of the Commission.

The Commission was created in 1997 by a state constitutional provision and state statutes to investigate and determine the qualifications and fitness of judicial candidates for all positions on the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit Court, Family Court, and Administrative Law Court. The Commission also screens candidates for appointment to Master-in-Equity positions, as well as retired judges for continued service through subsequent appointment by the Chief Justice of the SC Supreme Court.

For questions, please contact:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 102 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202 (803) 212-6689